Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

The Long Hauls

17 June 2015

Sponsored by

MERCIFULLY for Argyle and the always dedicated travelling Green Army...

...the pilgrimage the Pilgrims must take to witness all of their away fixtures of the 2015-16 Sky Bet league 2 season clocks in shorter than last season’s road trip – though there still are a few treks to prepare for. 

The longest trip of all for this campaign (and still the longest trip for any set of fans) remains the 778-mile round journey to Carlisle United. The match at Brunton Park will take place on Saturday, January 2 - although United face their trip to Home Park early in the season, coming here on Tuesday, August 18. 

We travel to Hartlepool, the second longest journey of our season, on Saturday, December 19. Pools will come to us, fancy dress costumes and all, on the final day of the League 2 season, on Saturday, May 7. 

It will take you around five-and-a-half hours to drive up to Bootham Crescent on Saturday, November 14 to watch Argyle take on York, whilst the Minstermen will travel the same 338 miles twice over on Easter Monday, March 28. The two teams shared the spoils in both meetings last season, whilst Argyle’s two games against Accrington Stanley both resulted in 1-0 wins for the home side. The Greens will welcome Stanley on Saturday, October 17, and will visit the Store First Stadium on Saturday, March 12. 

The home of Morecambe, the Globe Arena, is a 330-mile drive from PL2 3DQ, and at present the Green Army are scheduled to take on that route on Easter Saturday, March 26, whilst the Shrimps hit the road on the M6, M5 and A38 on Saturday, October 31. 

Argyle have won three of the eight meetings between the sides over the past four seasons, including a sensational 5-0 victory in March 2014. 

All fixtures are subject to confirmation. 

Advertisement block