Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Fixture News

Fixtures 2017-18 - The List

21 June 2017

ARGYLE will begin and end their first season back in Sky Bet League One far away from home.

The Pilgrims start the 2017-18 campaign at Peterborough United on Saturday, August 5, and will finish the season – nine months and more than 12,000 miles later – at Gillingham, on May 5.

The Greens’ first home game, on Saturday, August 12, is against Charlton Athletic, after which the men from the Westcountry go east again, to play Southend United on August 19.

Closer to home, Argyle entertain Bristol Rovers on Saturday, March 17, having travelled to the Memorial Ground on Saturday, September 30, while the Dockyard Derby rivalry with Portsmouth resumes at Fratton Park on Saturday, November 25 with the return at Home Park on Saturday, April 14.

Derek Adams’ men are away at Milton Keynes on Boxing Day, Tuesday, December 26, having entertained Oldham Athletic on the Saturday before Christmas, December 23.

After then travelling to Blackpool on Saturday December 30, they are at home to Walsall on New Year’s Day, Monday, January 1.

The slog to Blackpool – the third-longest distance the Pilgrims will have to travel during the season –at the end of the year is one of several fixtures where the EFL computer has been extraordinarily hard on Argyle.

They are also scheduled for a round-trip of 570 miles to Wigan Athletic on a Tuesday night, September 26, and – barely a month later – have to go the Blackburn Rovers (612 miles) in midweek.

Mind you, Blackpool will also be tearing their hair out at the scheduling, having been slated to come to Home Park on a Tuesday night for the second season in succession, on September 12.

Also on a Tuesday, Argyle entertain Northampton Town (November 21) and AFC Wimbledon (February 13).

The longest journey of the season, the 660-mile round-trip to Bradford, takes place on Saturday, November 12, with the Bantams coming to Plymouth on Saturday, February 24.

Easter sees another long trip, with Scunthorpe United the destination on Easter Monday, April 2, after Southend having visited Home Park on what is likely to be Good Friday, March 30.

Three of the Pilgrims' final five matches are at home, against Peterborough on Saturday, April 7, Portsmouth (April 14) and Rotherham United (April 28) before the whole campaign winds up at Gillingham....with a 5.30pm kick-off.

All fixtures are subject to confirmation.

PLYMOUTH ARGYLE 2017-18
Sat Aug 5 Peterborough United A
Wed Aug 9 Bristol City A (Carabao Cup 1)
Sat Aug 12 Charlton Athletic H
Sat Aug 19 Southend United A
Wed Aug 23 Carabao Cup 2
Sat Aug 26 Scunthorpe United H

Sat Sep 2 Walsall A*
Sat Sep 9 Milton Keynes Dons H
Tue Sep 12 Blackpool H
Sat Sep 16 Bury A
Wed Sep 20 Carabao Cup 3
Sat Sep 23 Doncaster Rovers H
Tue Sep 26 Wigan Athletic A
Sat Sep 30 Bristol Rovers A

Sat Oct 7 Fleetwood Town H*
Sat Oct 14 Shrewsbury Town H
Tue Oct 17 Blackburn Rovers A
Sat Oct 21 AFC Wimbledon A
Wed Oct 25 Carabao Cup 4
Sat Oct 28 Rochdale H

Sat Nov 4 Emirates FA Cup 1
Sat Nov 11 Bradford City A*
Sat Nov 18 Oxford United H
Tue Nov 21 Northampton Town H
Sat Nov 25 Portsmouth A

Sat Dec 2 Emirates FA Cup 2
Sat Dec 9 Gillingham H
Sat Dec 16 Rotherham United A
Wed Dec 20 Carabao Cup 5
Sat Dec 23 Oldham Athletic H
Tue Dec 26 Milton Keynes Dons A
Sat Dec 30 Blackpool A

Mon Jan 1 Walsall H
Sat Jan 6 Bury H (Emirates FA Cup 3)
Wed Jan 10 Carabao Cup Semi-Final 1
Sat Jan 13 Doncaster Rovers A
Sat Jan 20 Wigan Athletic H
Wed Jan 24 Carabao Cup Semi-Final 2
Sat Jan 27 Oldham Athletic A (Emirates FA Cup 4)

Sat Feb 3 Blackburn Rovers H
Sat Feb 10 Shrewsbury Town A
Tue Feb 13 AFC Wimbledon H
Sat Feb 17 Oxford United A (Emirates FA Cup 5)
Sat Feb 24 Bradford City H
Sun Feb 25 Carabao Cup Final

Sat Mar 3 Rochdale A
Sat Mar 10 Fleetwood Town A
Sat Mar 17 Bristol Rovers H (Emirates FA Cup 6)
Sat Mar 24 Charlton Athletic A*
Sat Mar 31 Southend United H

Mon Apr 2 Scunthorpe United A
Sat Apr 7 Peterborough United H
Sat Apr 14 Portsmouth H
Sat Apr 21 Northampton Town A (Emirates FA Cup Semi-Final)
Sat Apr 28 Rotherham United H
Sat May 5 Gillingham A
Sat May 19 Emirates FA Cup Final

All fixtures are subject to confirmation; *= International date

Fixtures Day 2017

Key dates for your 2017-18 diary

Starting out 2017-18

2017-18 Memberships on sale now  

Your guide to the 2017-18 holiday fixtures

The long and winding road 2017-18

2017-18 Fixtures Quiz.

Day tripping 2017-18

The 2017-18 Finishing Line 

Sync Argyle's 2017-18 fixtures


Advertisement block