Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Match Previews

Argyle v Bristol Rovers - the Line-Up

Home Park Debuts for Five Pilgrims

27 July 2019

FIVE Pilgrims, as well as manager Ryan Lowe, made their Home Park bows as Argyle returned to Home Park ahead of the 2019-20 Sky Bet League Two campaign.

Goalkeeper Alex Palmer, defender Callum McFadzean, midfielders Joe Edwards and Danny Mayor, and forward Byron Moore were named in the starting line-up against Bristol Rovers, the penultimate pre-season game for Argyle before their EFL curtain-raiser at Crewe Alexandra on August 3.

Palmer was handed the goalkeeper's gloves behind a central defensive trio of Scott Wootton, Niall Canavan and captain Gary Sawyer; McFadzean and Joe Riley lined up as wing-backs, with Edwards centre-pinning a midfield behind Mayor and Antoni Sarcevic.

Ex-Rover Moore partnered Joe Grant up front, while another former Pirate, Dom Telford, was not included in the squad because of injury.

The seven-man bench included trialist Ben Hall, the former Brighton & Hove Albion defender.

Argyle (3-5-2): 24 Alex Palmer; 5 Scott Wootton, 6 Niall Canavan, 3 Gary Sawyer (capt); 2 Joe Riley, 7 Antoni Sarcevic, 8 Joe Edwards, 10 Danny Mayor, 21 Callum McFadzean; 16 Joel Grant, 17 Byron Moore.

Substitutes: 1 Mike Cooper (gk), 4 Ben Hall, 14 Jose Baxter, 15 Conor Grant, 19 Klaidi Lolos, 20 Adam Randell,  23 Ashley Smith-Brown.

Bristol Rovers (4-4-2 diamond): 32 Anssi Jaakola; 2 Mark Little, 5 Tony Craig, 16 Tom Davies, 25 Luke Leahy; 6 Ed Upson, 7 Liam Sercombe, 8 Ollie Clarke, 23 Kyle Bennett; 10 Tom Nichols, 33 Alex Rodman.

Substitutes: 1 Jordi van Stappershoef (gk), 3 Tyler Smith, 4 Abu Ogogo, 9 Victor Adeboyejo, 15 Alfie Kilgour, 18 Michael Kelly, 20 Gavin Reilly, 22 Josh Hare, 24 Rollin Menayese, 68 Lucas Tomlinson.

Advertisement block