Men From The Orient To Travel West

WE will play Sky Bet League 1 side Leyton Orient for the first time in a cup competition for more than 60 years in the first round of this season’s Capital One Cup.

The draw, which was made on Tuesday, saw the Pilgrims paired with Orient in a tie which will be played at Home Park in the week beginning Monday, August 11.

Having never faced each other in a League Cup encounter before, the only other cup meeting between the sides was in 1956, when Orient knocked the Pilgrims out of the FA Cup at the third-round stage, winning 1-0 at Brisbane Road.

Back in the 2010-11 season, the O’s did the double over Argyle, winning their home fixture 2-0 and following that up with a 4-1 thrashing at Home Park, in May.

In fact, you have to go back 12 years to find the last Pilgrims’ win over Orient.

Goals from Ian Stonebridge, Graham Coughlan and Michael Evans saw Argyle record a 3-0 win at home during the Nationwide Division 3 championship-winning campaign.

The O’s, who narrowly missed out on promotion from Sky Bet League 1 last season, losing on penalties to Rotherham United following a 2-2 draw, have a familiar face amongst their ranks.

Defender Gary Sawyer started his career at Home Park, playing more than 100 games in a four-year spell beginning in 2006 and through to 2010.

The former Argyle left-back recently signed a new contract at the Matchroom Stadium, having joined Orient in the summer of 2012.


Oldham Athletic v Middlesbrough
Shrewsbury Town v Blackpool
Sheffield Wednesday v Notts County
Tranmere v Nottingham Forest
Leeds v Accrington
Bolton v Bury
Rochdale v Preston
Rotherham v Fleetwood
Carlisle v Derby
Port Vale v Hartlepool
Morecambe v Bradford
Barnsley v Crewe
Chesterfield v Huddersfield
Blackburn v Scunthorpe
Burton Albion v Wigan Athletic
York v Doncaster
Sheffield United v Mansfield
Reading v Newport
Bristol City v Oxford
Brighton v Cheltenham
Coventry v Cardiff
Luton v Swindon
Dagenham & Redbridge v Brentford
Charlton v Colchester
Crawley v Ipswich
Wolves v Northampton
Yeovil v Gillingham
MK Dons v AFC Wimbledon
Exeter v Bournemouth
Stevenage v Watford
Birmingham v Cambridge
Portsmouth v Peterborough
Millwall v Wycombe
Southend v Walsall