JPT Draw Details

THE first Devon derby of the season could come earlier than expected after both Torquay and Exeter were drawn with the Pilgrims in the first round of the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy.

First round ties, which are due to be played during the first week of September, would pre-date the Pilgrims’ clash with Exeter at St James’ Park on October 5.

Argyle are in the south-western section of the draw and, along with their Devon rivals, could face Bristol City, Bristol Rovers, Cheltenham Town, Portsmouth or Wycombe Wanderers.

Byes in the southern section have been handed to sides such as Swindon Town, Peterborough United, Coventry City and League 2 new boys Newport County. The first round draw will be made on Sky Sports’ Soccer AM on Saturday, August 17 at around 10:30am.

In last season’s competition, the Pilgrims were given a bye straight through to the second round, where we entertained Aldershot Town at Home Park.

An early strike from Paris Cowan-Hall gave the Pilgrims the lead before Aldershot’s Craig Reid briefly pulled the score back to 1-1.

Andres Gurrieri put the Greens back in front shortly afterwards to book the Pilgrims a home tie against Oxford in the Area quarter-finals.

Things started well for Argyle as loanee Alex MacDonald fired his side in front midway through the first-half but on the hour mark, saw his strike cancelled out by James Constable.

As per competition rules, the game went straight to a penalty-shoot out and whilst Sean Rigg, Adam Chapman and Liam Davis converted Oxford’s penalties, only Rhys Griffiths could score for the Pilgrims, thus bringing an end to Argyle’s cup run.

Regional Groups for Round 1 Draw
Northern Section - West
Northern Section - East
Accrington Stanley
Crewe Alexandra
Fleetwood Town
Oldham Athletic
Port Vale
Shrewsbury Town
Tranmere Rovers
Bradford City
Burton Albion
Hartlepool United
Notts County
Scunthorpe United
Sheffield United
Wolverhampton Wanderers
Southern Section - West
Southern Section - East
Bristol City
Bristol Rovers
Cheltenham Town
Exeter City
Plymouth Argyle
Torquay United
Wycombe Wanderers
AFC Wimbledon
Colchester United
Dagenham & Redbridge
Leyton Orient
Milton Keynes Dons
Northampton Town

Clubs Awarded Byes
Northern Section
Southern Section
Carlisle United
Preston North End
Manfield Town
Rotherham United
York City
Crawley Town
Newport County
Oxford United
Swindon Town
Coventry City
Peterborough United
Southend United