Football League Appointment

AT its Owners’ and Executives’ Conference, The Football League has announced the appointment of Debbie Jevans to the position of Independent Non-Executive Director.

Jevans joins League Chairman, Greg Clarke and Richard Bowker, its other Non-Executive Director, in bringing an independent voice to its decision making process.  She will take up the position by the end of the year following formal ratification by clubs at their autumn meeting.

A former professional tennis player, Jevans is the Chief Executive of England Rugby 2015, organisers of the Rugby World Cup, is on the Board of Sport England and was voted the most influential woman in British Sport earlier this year by the Guardian. Previously, she was Director of Sport for LOCOG, organisers of the London 2012 Olympic Games and Paralympic Games.

Football League Chairman, Greg Clarke, said: "I am delighted to welcome Debbie to the Board. She has an outstanding track record in sport, both as a participant and as an administrator.”

"Her appointment will bring greater levels of diversity, independence and continuity to The League's governance."

Debbie Jevans said: “This is an exciting opportunity to join the Board of The Football League, and make a contribution to the governance and direction of football - a sport I have followed, as a fan, for many years.”

Additionally, Football League Chief Executive, Shaun Harvey is to become a full Board member with immediate effect.

Clarke said: "Shaun's inclusion on the Board provides an important strategic link between the Board and our executive team and ensures that our governance processes are as robust as possible."

The Football League Board of Directors:

- Greg Clarke - Chairman
- Shaun Harvey - Chief Executive
- Richard Bowker - Independent
- Debbie Jevans – Independent
- Karl Oyston - Blackpool
- Keith Lamb - Middlesbrough
- Andy Ambler - Millwall
- John Nixon - Carlisle United*
- James Rodwell - Notts County
- Ian Lenagan - Oxford United

*John Nixon will be standing down from the Board following Carlisle United’s relegation to League 2.  A new League 1 representative will be announced in due course.