Argyle U18's 2 Torquay United 2

LOCAL rivals Argyle and Torquay shared the points in a fiesty encounter at Haye Road, Elburton.

The match began with a bang as both sides were reduced to 10 men after just three minutes.

Jake Miller's tackle brought a violent reaction from Josh Lynch and, when the referee had restored order, the pair were shown straight red cards.

The young Gulls, who were fresh from their 9-0 demolition of Clevedon in the FA Youth Cup, had the first real chance when a slip by Jordan Bentley let in Liam Prynn but he shot high and wide when faced by only Andrew Hannah.

The visitors were to take the lead, three minutes later, when Prynn, who scored four against Clevedon, outpaced the Argyle defence before firing in a shot that Hannah could only deflect into his net.

Argyle almost had a quick reply when good work by Ben Steer saw him reach the byeline before pulling the ball back for Louis Rooney to hit, first time, against the near post.

Torquay might have scored a second goal, five minutes before the break, after Billy Palfrey was penalised for his challenge on Prynn inside the area. Prynn picked himself up to take the spot kick, but Hannah dived low to his left to save, before bravely diving at Prynn's feet to smother the ball and deny the follow-up.

The significance of that save became apparent after just two minutes of the second half when Torquay goalkeeper Dan Lavercombe fluffed his clearance. Rooney controlled the ball to run on and fire home despite heavy pressure.

Rooney then saw his cracking volley, from a tight angle, bring a good save out of Lavercombe before Prynn wasted another good chance by firing in to the side-netting.

Rooney was proving a handful for the Gulls defence and he showed his class, in the area, as he turned his marker and fired across Lavercombe to make it 2-1.

The game was in the second minute of stoppage time when Johnny Buckle's corner found Oneil Odofin diving full length at the far post to head home and earn Torquay an unlikely draw.

Argyle: Andrew Hannah, Billy Palfrey (Callum Hall h-t), Jamil Roberts (Mason Hughes h-t), Will Sargent, Jordan Bentley, Tom Moxham, Ben Steer, Jack Calver, Louis Rooney, Jake Miller, Jason Vincent. Substitute (not used): Owen Jones.