Swindon U18s 1 Argyle U18s 3

A COMFORTABLE victory for Argyle's youngsters has seen them become the first ever winners of the Football League Youth Alliance Merit One League.

A goal from Louis Rooney set the young Greens on their way to victory at Swindon Town, with a Ben Steer double either side of half-time confirming Argyle's status as champions. The Robins notched a late consolation, but it did nothing to spoil the day. 

With a strong wind behind them Swindon dominated the early pla, although midfielder Steer led two counter attacks for Argyle. Two clinical strikes, in a two minute spell, swung the game Argyle's way, with the first coming on 24 minutes.

Top scorer Rooney found space in the Robin's penalty box to steer the ball home from 12 yards, and in the very next atttack the impressive Steer produced a spectacular 20 yard volley to double the visitors' advantage.

Swindon continued to enjoy the majority of possession and Argyle's goalkeeper, Cory Harvey, was the busiest of the two custodians making several vital saves.

It was Argyle, though, who were to score again, 20 minutes from time, as Steer controlled a through ball in his stride before placing his shot into the bottom corner from 15 yards.

The Robins, to their credit, kept battling away, and finally beat Harvey eight minutes from time with Scott Twine threading a well placed shot into the Argyle goal from 12 yards.

The final whistle was greeted with celebrations from the young Pilgrims, who have been unbeaten throughout the league campaig - few would deny them their moment of triumph.

Argyle: Cory Harvey, Dan Rooney, Jack Calver (Jamil Roberts 70), Will Sargent, Owen Jones, Liam Knowles, Billy Palfrey, Callum Hall, Jason Vincent, Louis Rooney (Alex Fletcher 40), Ben Steer. Substitutes not used: Andrew Hannah, Aaron Taylor, Mason Hughes.