Argyle Appoint Adams

PLYMOUTH Argyle are delighted to announce that Derek Adams is the club’s new manager.

Derek, 39, comes to Home Park after a highly successful career in Scotland, first as a player and latterly as a manager.

After taking over the reins at Ross County aged just 32, he managed the highland side to the heights of Scottish football, winning two titles in five years and establishing County as a top Premiership side.

In seven years at the Dingwall-based club, he also guided the Staggies to their first ever Scottish FA Cup final appearance and two Scottish Challenge Cup finals.

After a successful playing career as a striker between 1995-2009 for Motherwell, Ayr United, Aberdeen, Livingston and Ross County, he graduated to the County manager’s job in October 2007 and won the Scottish Second Division in his debut season in the dugout.

He topped that in 2011-12 by taking the Staggies into the top flight for their first time in their history, winning the First Division 24 points ahead of second-placed Dundee. The title was sewn up five games before the end of the season on the back of a 34-game unbeaten run, securing Derek the PFA Scotland Manager of the Year award.

The following season, he earned a second successive Manager of the Year nomination after guiding County to fifth place in their debut Premiership season, just one point away from Europe qualification.  In 2013-14, he secured a seventh place for County, from who he parted company last season.

In between his two title triumphs, Derek also took the Staggies to their first ever Scottish FA Cup final appearance, in 2010, beating Premiership sides Hibernian and Celtic on their way to Hampden Park, and a Scottish Challenge Cup final victory the following season. 

Everyone at Home Park, and the worldwide Green Army, wishes Derek continued success in his career as he becomes the 47th man – and 12th Scot – to have been entrusted with being in charge of Argyle since the Pilgrims entered the Southern League in 1903.

Born: June 25, 1975. Glasgow

Clubs Managed
2007–2010  Ross County
2010–2011  Hibernian (assistant)
2011–2014  Ross County
2015-         Plymouth Argyle

Clubs Played For
1992–1995     Aberdeen
1995–1996     Burnley
1996–1998    Ross County
1998–2004     Motherwell
1999–2000     Ayr United (loan)
2004–2005    Aberdeen
2005–2006    Livingston
2006–2009    Ross County 

1903-1905 Frank Brettell
1905-1906 Bob Jack
1906-1907 William Fullerton
1910-1938 Bob Jack
1938-1947 Jack Tresadern
1948-1955 Jimmy Rae
1955-1960 Jack Rowley
1960 Neil Dougall/George Taylor
1961 Neil Dougall
1961-1963 Ellis Stuttard
1963-1964 Andy Beattie*
1964-1965 Malcolm Allison
1965-1968 Derek Ufton
1968-1970 Billy Bingham
1970-1972 Ellis Stuttard
1972-1977 Tony Waiters
1977-1978 Mike Kelly
1978 Lennie Lawrence*
1978-1979 Malcolm Allison 
1979-1981 Bobby Saxton
1981-1983 Bobby Moncur
1983-1984 John Hore
1984 Martin Harvey*
1984-1988 Dave Smith
1988-1990 Ken Brown
1990 John Gregory*
1990-1992 David Kemp
1992 Gordon Nisbet/ Alan Gillett*
1992-1995 Peter Shilton
1995 Steve McCall
1995 Russell Osman*
1995-1997 Neil Warnock
1997-1998 Mick Jones
1998-2000 Kevin Hodges
2000 Kevin Summerfield*
2000-2004 Paul Sturrock
2004 Kevin Summerfield*
2004-2005 Bobby Williamson
2005 Jocky Scott*
2005-2006 Tony Pulis
2006-2007 Ian Holloway
2007 Tim Breacker/Des Bulpin*
2007-2009 Paul Sturrock
2009-2010 Paul Mariner
2010-2011 Peter Reid
2011-2013 Carl Fletcher
2013 Romain Larrieu/Kevin Nancekivell*
2013-2015 John Sheridan
2015- Derek Adams
* = temporary/caretaker manager