Derek and Curtis Receive Nominations

ARGYLE boss Derek Adams and captain Curtis Nelson have received recognition for Argyle's stunning performances in the month of October.

Derek is among the nominees for Sky Bet Manager of the Month, with Curtis one of four Sky Bet League 2 player vying for the Player of the Month award.

Argyle won six out of seven league fixtures during October, accumulating more points than any other team in the division, and moving five points clear of the field. Derek is included in the line-up alongside Northampton Town's Chris Wilder, Oxford's Michael Appleton and Crawley's Mark Yates. 

Wilder steered Northampton to 13 points from six games, despite things not running smoothly off the field at Sixfields. Crawley began the month by losing to Argyle, but recovered to win four of their remaining five October fixtures. Oxford are the only side to have beaten Argyle in the Pilgrims' last 11 games, and Appleton's team finished the month with an emphatic 5-1 win at Stevenage, and are now closest to Argyle in the league table. 

From his central defensive position Nelson has skippered Argyle through a month in which they conceded just three goals. Equalisers by Crawley and Luton - both of which counted for nothing as Argyle struck late winners - and the goal scored by Liam Sercombe to defeat Argyle at Oxford are the only times the goal behind Nelson has been breached. 

Other players on the list alongside Curtis are Nicky Adams of Northampton, Shaun Miller of Morecambe and Matty Taylor of Bristol Rovers. Adams, a former Bury midfielder, has shone for the Cobblers, creating seven goals in the month alone; Miller bagged six goals in five games for the Shrimps - though they failed to score against Argyle - while Taylor grabbed three goals for Rovers, including a pair of vital late winners. 

The judging panel comprises Sky Sports’ Football League expert Don Goodman; Football League Head of Communications John Nagle; League Managers’ Association Director Olaf Dixon and Sky Bet Football Trading Manager Paul Lowery.

All winners will be announced on Friday, November 6.