Pilgrim Recognition

TWO Argyle players have been recognised for their exceptional Sky Bet League 2 performances this season.

Curtis Nelson was voted, by his fellow professionals, in the PFA Sky Bet League 2 team of the season, while Graham Carey featured at number six in a list of the best players in the division as voted for by League 2's 24 managers. 

Nelson was part of a back four comprised from the three statistically best defences in the division. Joe Jacobson and Aaron Pierre were selected from Wycombe Wanderers, who have only let in 37 goals in their 43 games. Argyle have conceded 41 goals, the same as Oxford United, whose former loan full-back George Baldock caught the eye of his peers. Behind them, Adam Smith of champions Northampton was chosen as the goalkeeper. 

Carey did not make the selection for team of the season, but the five players that featured ahead of him in the managers' poll did. Kemar Roofe of Oxford was named League 2's best player, ahead of Northampton's Ricky Holmes; the division's top goalscorer, Matty Taylor of Bristol Rovers; Matt Crooks of Accrington Stanley; and Jay Simpson of Leyton Orient. Northampton's John-Joe O'Toole, eighth in the manager's poll, was also in the players' 11. 

Sky Bet League 2 Team of the Year
Adam Smith (Northampton); George Baldock (Oxford), Curtis Nelson (Argyle), Aaron Pierre (Wycombe) Joe Jacobson (Wycombe); Ricky Holmes (Northampton), John-Joe O'Toole (Northampton), Matt Crooks (Accrington), Kemar Roofe (Oxford); Jay Simpson (Leyton Orient), Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers).

Sky Bet League 2 Top 15 Players - voted for by League 2 manager
1. Kemar Roofe (Oxford) 
2. Ricky Holmes (Northampton) 
3. Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers) 
4. Matt Crooks (Accrington) 
5. Jay Simpson (Leyton Orient) 
6. Graham Carey (Argyle) 
7. Liam Sercombe (Oxford) 
8. Billy Kee (Accrington) 
9. John-Joe O'Toole (Northampton) 
10. Josh Windass (Accrington) 
11. Tom Lockyer (Bristol Rovers) 
12. John Lundstram (Oxford) 
13. Marc Richards (Northampton) 
14. Adam Webster (Portsmouth) 
15. Kyle Bennett (Portsmouth)