EFL Trophy Draw

ARGYLE will renew battle with play-off conquerors AFC Wimbledon...

...and face Premiership opponents Swansea City in the group stages of this year's EFL Trophy.

The Pilgrims have been drawn in Southern Group B of the competition, with Newport County, managed by former Pilgrim Warren Feeney, the fourth team in the group.

This year's competition includes 16 invited Category One Academy teams, like Swansea, as well as the 48 clubs from Sky Bet Leagues One and Two. 

Clubs will play each other once, either home or away, and invited clubs will play one home game at the club’s first-team stadium. 

The matches are scheduled to be played in weeks beginning August 29, October 3 and November 7.

Clubs will be awarded 3 points for a win and 1 point for a draw. In the event of a drawn game, after 90 minutes, a penalty shoot-out will be held with the winning team earning an additional point. 

The top two teams will progress to the knockout stage. The second round remains regionalised with each group winner being drawn at home to a second-placed team from a different qualifying group.