Mitre Goal of 2016: The Contenders

EACH year, the EFL ask us to provide our best goal of the last calendar year... as usual, it is over to you, the Green Army, to have the final say. 

We have narrowed down the field to three finalists for you to select from. We are permitted to choose from any EFL fixture involving Argyle that took place in 2016. That is to say: Sky Bet League Two, the EFL Cup and the Checkatrade Trophy, in their current or former guises. 

We have selected Louis Rooney's volley against Hartlepool in May, which won our 2015-16 goal of the season award; Graham Carey's mesmorising solo run against Mansfield this season; and another Carey goal, this time his long-range effort against Yeovil, in October. 

Below is a video reminding you of the three options. When you have made your mind up, you can also vote for your favourite in the box below. Voting closes at 11.45pm on Sunday, February 26. We will let you know what goal the Green Army have selected, and will submit it to the EFL for consideration for Mitre Goal of the Year 2016. 

Every EFL club will select a goal, all 72 of which will then be whittled down to a select number (10). Through partnership with then Football on 5 highlights show, from the 10 goals nominated, fans will be able to vote for a final shortlist of five goals to go forward to the Awards evening on Sunday, April 9 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London. The overall winner for Goal of the Year will then be voted for on the night by attendees.