Alex Nominated For EFL Award

ARGYLE apprentice Alex Fletcher has been nominated for LFE Sky Bet League Two Apprentice of the Year in the 2017 EFL Awards.

Forward Alex, who made his first-team debut earlier this season, and who has been regular goalscorer for the Under-18s and Carlsberg South West Peninsula League team, is on a short-list of three for the award, along with Myles Judd, of Leyton Orient, and Cambridge United's Leon Davies .

He is the third Young Pilgrim to be nominated for the award in recent years, following in the studmarks of Tyler Harvey and Ben Purrington. 

The annual awards take place in London on Sunday, April 9 as clubs, players and fans come together to recognise the stars of the 2016-17 across all three divisions and in 14 different categories. 

The best of the EFL will be honoured, with awards for players, managers and supporters, as well as worthy recognition of some of the great work being undertaken by clubs and the Trusts in communities up and down the country. 

The Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season shortlist includes no Argyle player but two from Doncaster Rovers, club stalwart James Coppinger and striker John Marquis, along with Luton Town’s Danny Hylton.

Leeds United’s talisman Chris Wood is one of three players shortlisted for the hotly contested Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season; the striker has been a formidable force this season and currently tops the goalscoring chart with 22 league goals. 

Newcastle United’s Dwight Gayle is only one goal behind Wood on 21 as the talented striker looks to help the Magpies secure promotion straight back to the Premier League. Brighton and Hove Albion’s Anthony Knockaert has been influential in the Seagulls’ promotion chase with his skill and trickery, the Frenchman is also the division’s highest scoring midfielder with 13 league goals. 

After spending the majority of the season at the top of League One it is not a surprise that Sheffield United have two players in contention for League One Player of the Season. Prolific forward Billy Sharp has been unstoppable with an impressive 26 league goals whilst team-mate John Fleck has been a solid ever-present for the Blades - the Scottish midfielder holds the highest number of assists in the division. Scunthorpe United’s Josh Morris makes up the three shortlisted League One players with the 25 year old scoring a notable 19 goals from midfield.

There is a competitive line up for the Young Player of the Year with Reading’s John Swift, Oxford United’s Ryan Ledson and Exeter City’s Ollie Watkins hoping to join an illustrious list of previous winners including Gareth Bale, Nathaniel Clyne and Dele Alli.
Off the pitch, Blackburn Rovers, Brighton & Hove Albion, Millwall, MK Dons, Carlisle United and Stevenage will be hoping to take home the Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year award, whilst the overall winner of Checkatrade Community Club of the Year and Supporter of the Year will also be crowned. 

Judged by panels of leading experts from the football and media industry, the most prestigious accolade of the night is the Contribution to League Football Award which recognises long-standing and exceptional service to The League. The late Jimmy Hill, Peter Shilton and Jimmy Armfield have all previously been recognised for their contribution. 

EFL Chief Executive Shaun Harvey said: "It’s been an exciting and action-packed 12 months for the EFL both on and off the pitch. There have been some incredible individual and team performances across the three divisions, entertaining the millions of fans who follow the EFL week in, week out. 
“Off the pitch, our clubs continue to have a positive and lasting impact in their local communities, using the power of football to deliver life-changing programmes and activities. 
“The EFL Awards are a fantastic way to recognise the achievements of clubs, players, back room staff and fans and I would like to personally congratulate everyone who has been nominated and wish them all the best on the night itself.” 

For more details, visit: 


Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season
Chris Wood (Leeds United)
Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United)
Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion) 

Sky Bet League One Player of the Season 
Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)
Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United) 
John Fleck (Sheffield United) 

Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season 
John Marquis (Doncaster Rovers)
James Coppinger (Doncaster Rovers)
Danny Hylton (Luton Town) 

EFL Young Player of the Season 
John Swift (Reading)
Ryan Ledson (Oxford United)
Ollie Watkins (Exeter City)

Football Manager Team of the Season 
To be revealed on the night. 

Sir Tom Finney and Contribution to League Football Awards
To be announced on the night
PFA Player in the Community 
Liam Rosenior (Brighton & Hove Albion) 
Andy Butler (Doncaster Rovers)
Christian Burgess (Portsmouth) 

EFL Supporter of the Year 
Pav Samra (Derby County)
Zoe Edge (Chesterfield) 
Paul Mayfield (Doncaster Rovers) 

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year, Championship 
Blackburn Rovers 
Brighton & Hove Albion 

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year, League One
MK Dons 

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year, League Two 
Carlisle United 

Checkatrade Community Club of the Year 
North West - Wigan Athletic
North East & Yorkshire - Rotherham United
Midlands - Burton Albion 
London - Fulham 
South East - Brighton & Hove Albion 
South West & Wales - Portsmouth 

LFE Apprentice of the Year, Championship 
Ben Brereton (Nottingham Forest) 
Lloyd Kelly (Bristol City)
George Hirst (Sheffield Wednesday) 

LFE Apprentice of the Year, League One
Lewis Butroid (Scunthorpe United) 
Matthew Gillam (Rochdale) 
Callum Cockerill-Mollett (Walsall) 

LFE Apprentice of the Year, League Two 
Myles Judd (Leyton Orient) 
Alex Fletcher (Plymouth Argyle) 
Leon Davies (Cambridge United)