Mitre Goal of 2016 - The Winner

LOUIS Rooney's debut goal for Argyle, against Hartlepool in May, has been voted as our Mitre Goal of 2016.

We selected three goals - Rooney's, plus two Graham Carey strikes, against Mansfield and Yeovil this season - as our top three efforts, asking the Green Army to select the best of the bunch. 

Louis's goal topped the pool, getting 57.56% of the vote. Carey's Yeovil blinder was second, at 32.29%, with his Mansfield run and finish scoring 10.15%. 

Every EFL club is selecting a goal for the competition, all 72 of which will then be whittled down to a select number (10). Through partnership with the Football on 5 highlights show, from the 10 goals nominated, fans will be able to vote for a final shortlist of five goals to go forward to the Awards evening on Sunday, April 9 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London. The overall winner for Mitre Goal of the Year will then be voted for on the night by attendees.