Fizz With Excitement

THE ARGYLE Medical team have been nominated for a prestigious award for the second season running.

Head Physiotherapist Paul Atkinson and his team have been shortlisted for the Football Medical Association’s Medical and Science Team of the Year Award for the 2017-18 Sky Bet League One season.

They have had a busy season this year with the early serious broken bones suffered by Ryan Taylor and Oscar Threlkeld as well as injuries throughout the season to players such as Jamie Ness and Antoni Sarcevic, not to mention the goalkeeping crisis involving Luke McCormick, Robbert Te Loeke, Kyle Letheren and Remi Matthews.

Paul has also had to deal with players’ non football-related illness’ such as Ryan Edwards’ with testicular cancer and Sonny Bradley’s kidney problem.

Argyle were also nominated for the award last season in League Two but missed out to Notts County’s medical staff.

Also joining Argyle on the shortlist for the League One nominations are Shrewsbury Town and Gillingham.

Results will be announced at the FMA Awards dinner on May 18, 2018. The FMA Award Dinner is now into its fifth year and recognises the teams and individuals who have excelled during the current season.

Paul has been the head physiotherapist at Home Park since re-joining the club in February 2010. He first worked with Argyle as an assistant to Norman Medhurst and acted as a mentor to previous physio Paul Maxwell.

He is now in his second spell at Home Park, having decided to move back to the Westcountry following eight years in Scotland with Heart of Midlothian and Dunfermline Athletic.

Good luck to Paul and his team from everyone at Argyle.