Pilgrims of the Year

GRAHAM Carey has been named Argyle’s official Pilgrim of the Year for the 2017-2018 season.

The playmaker scooped his second Player of the Year award in three years as a Pilgrim. He has pivotal in Argyle’s first season back in Sky Bet League One after signing a new contract in the summer having made a huge impression in his first two years as a green following his arrival from Ross County in 2015.

Carey becomes only the seventh Pilgrim to have won the Player of The Year trophy twice for Argyle. He joins an elite band of players which include names such as Tommy Tynan, Paul Mariner, Carl Fletcher and Mick Heathcote. The Irish talisman won with 40% of the vote with David Fox in second place with 20% of the vote and Ryan Taylor third with 10%.

Carey made it three years in a row since join the Pilgrims that he has achieved double figures in both the scoring charts and the assist charts. This season, Graham has made a total of 43 appearances in all competitions, scoring 14 goals and assisting a further 13. The Irishman is still the only player in League One to have achieved the feat of reaching double figures in both this season.

The winner of the Young Player of the Year vote was Zak Vyner who scored a massive 76% of the Vote, beating competition from other leading candidates Michael Cooper who came second with 14%, Alex Fletcher in third with 6% and Cameron Sangster.

Vyner becomes the second Bristol City loanee to win the award in the past two seasons as forward Arnold Garita took home the award last season. Vyner has put in some fantastic displays at the back only losing three of his fifteen matches as a Pilgrim, with eight of them being victories. He also scored a crucial winner away to Shrewsbury Town making Argyle at the time, only the second team to win there this season.