Argyle v Swindon - the Line-Up

A SMALL piece of Argyle history was created before Tuesday's Checkatrade Trophy game against Swindon Town at Home Park, when all three Grants in the first-team squad - Peter, Conor and Joel - were named in the starting 11.

Never before in the club's long existence have three players with the same surname featured in the same starting line-up.

There were also returns after injury for Jamie Ness, who captained the side, Antoni Sarcevic and, on a bench that included youngsters Luke Jephcott and Dan Rooney, Niall Canavan.

Swindon's side included former Home Park favourite goalkeeper Luke McCormick, but there was no place for another ex-Pilgrim, Toumani Diagouraga.

Argyle: 21 Kyle Letheren; 22 Tafari Moore, 5 Ryan Edwards, 24 Peter Grant, 23 Ashley Smith-Brown; 15 Conor Grant, 6 Jamie Ness (capt), 7 Antoni Sarcevic; 11 Ruben Lameiras, 29 Alex Fletcher, 16 Joel Grant. Substitutes: 14 Niall Canavan, 17 Lionel Ainsworth, 18 Calum Dyson, 20 Gregg Wylde, 31 Michael Cooper (gk), 34 Dan Rooney, 35 Luke Jephcott.

Swindon Town: 23 Luke McCormick; 2 Kyle Knoyle, 4 Jak McCourt, 9 Marc Richards (capt), 10 Keshi Anderson, 14 Ellis Iandolo, 16 Martin Smith, 24 Scott Twine, 25 Joe Romanski, 26 Dion Conroy, 32 Luke Woolfenden. Substitutes: 6 Olly Lancashire, 7 Jermaine McGlashan, 11 Steven Alzate, 12 Will Henry (gk), 17 Elijah Adebayo, 22 Kaiyne Woolery, 31 Matt Taylor.