Exeter Youth 3 Argyle Youth 2

Exeter 3
Wilson 6, 15, 45

Argyle 2
Garside 12
Lolos 90 

ARGYLE went down to a 3-2 defeat in the derby against Exeter City in the first round of the FA Youth Cup, hosted at St James Park.

A fine hat-trick from Lewis Wilson was just about enough for the Grecians, despite Rio Garside and Klaidi Lolos responding for Argyle.

An early goal from Wilson came from a one-on-one meeting with Argyle ‘keeper Harry Townsend, and the Exeter man kept his cool to slot home the opener.

An equaliser for the Pilgrims came just six minutes later, from a free-kick taken by Garside 20 yards out, smoothly curling past the wall of defenders and into the back of the net.

Argyle were unable to keep the score-line level, as, in the 15th minute, Wilson met a cross from Luis Morison, which left Townsend unable to compete with a shot at such close distance.

The task got a whole tougher on the 45th minute, when a cross from Exeter’s Joe Belston reached the feet of Wilson, who smashed it into the bottom corner, completing a hat-trick to bring the score-line to 3-1.

A strong effort by Tom Purrington from just outside the box in the 51st minute was arrowed just wide to the right of Exeter goal. Within a couple of minutes, Aaron Goulty also had a chance to reduce the deficit, with a shot that was deflected over the goal by Grecian Cheick Diabate.

Skipper Adan Randell had an effort cleared off the line before Lolos did notch, but it was too late for Argyle to continue their progress in this season’s FA Youth Cup.

Argyle: 1 Harry Townsend; 2 Joe Seery (14 Rubin Wilson 64), 3 Reuben Collum, 4 Adam Randell (capt.), 5 Michael Peck, 6 Ollie Tomlinson, 7 Aaron Goulty, 8 Tom Purrington, 9 Klaidi Lolos, 10 Jude Boyd (15 Finley Craske 35), 11 Rio Garside.

Substitutes (not used): 12 Isaac Burdon, 13 Shaun Hillier, 16 Jimmy Miller.

Booked: Seery 28’, Lolos 62’

Exeter: 1 Jack Arthur; 2 Joe Belsten, 3 Louis Morison, 4 Will Dean (capt.), 5 Jordan Dyer, 6 Cheick Diabate (12 Alex Moyse 66), 7 Jay Stansfield (14 Frank Lovett 90), 8 Charlie Lawrence, 9 Lewis Wilson, 10 James Dodd, 11 Nelson Iseguan (15 Max Clark 57).

Substitutes (not used): 16 Jack Veale, 17 Callum Brake.

Booked: Wilson 23’

Attendance: 446