SWPL v Saltash H report

ARGYLE came from behind to win a ding-dong derby against their neighbours from over the Tamar and maintain their leadership of the Carlsberg South West Peninsula League Premier Division.

Klaidi Lolos clinched a 3-2 victory with a late goal after Saltash had themselves come from behind to lead 2-1 with 15 minutes to play.

Luke Jephcott hauled the Pilgrims level before, the Ashes were reduced to ten men when two-goal Ryan Richards was sent off and, within a minute, Lolos grabbed the winner.

Argyle took a while to get into their stride at Coach Road before Lolos, Battle and Jephcott all went close, and Saltash cleared the ball from their line after a goalmouth scramble.

It was not all one way, though, as the Pilgrims' defence were tested by physically strong opponents who were created a few problems with their quick counter attacks.

The breakthrough came in the 37th minute, when Battle beat three players and finished well, but the lead last less than 30 seconds as Richards equalised from the re-start.

Argyle saw Lolos hit the bar with a header from Harry Hodges' cross in the opening stages of the second half, and Dan Rooney was thwarted in a one-on-one with the goalkeeper after being played in by Battle. 

Battle missed a great opportunity after Luke Jephcott’s pass before Richards put Ashes ahead with his second goal of the game

Jephcott quickly levelled with an excellent strike, cutting in from right and firing home with his with left foot, before Richards was sent off for dangerous play after challenging Argyle 'keeper Michael Cooper.

A minute later, Jephcott found Lolos, who avoided offside trap and finished clinically.

There was still work to be done before Argyle could be sure of all the points, with Cooper making a reflex save from a free-kick.

Argyle: Michael Cooper; Harry Hodges, Jordan Bentley, Isaac Burdon, Ryan Law; Aaron Goulty, Dan Rooney, Cameron Sangster, Luke Jephcott; Alex Battle; Klaidi Lolos. Substitutes (not used): Max Childs (gk), Michael Peck, Reuben Collum, Rubin Wilson.