Player of the Season Vote

AS another gripping Sky Bet League One campaign draws to a close, it is once again time for the Green Army to vote for the club’s prestigious Player and Young Player of the Season awards.

Which Pilgrims will succeed two-time Player of the Year Graham Carey and Young Player of the Year Zak Vyner as your picks for the 2018-19 season?

It has been another rollercoaster campaign for Derek Adams’ charges, and there have been several stand-out performances, both individually and collectively.

The field for the main award is open to any player who has played for the first team this season; the Young Player award is anyone who was under the age of 21 on the date of the first match of the season against Walsall, on August 4, 2018.

The easiest way to cast your vote is by clicking here. Alternatively, you can also vote by dropping your nominations in person to the Argyle Ticket Office or the Argyle Superstore, using the form on this page.

Voting closes on Monday, April 29, with the awards taking place before our final game of the Sky Bet League One season, at home to Scunthorpe United on May 5.

In winning the Player of the Season award for the second time last year, talismanic playmaker Graham Carey joined the pantheon of Argyle greats to win it more than once. 

In the history of the end-of-season award, only eight Pilgrims have scooped multiple gongs. In 2018, Carey joined a club whose membership comprises Paul Mariner, George Foster, Paul Wotton, Mick Heathcote and Steve McCall, Carl Fletcher as two-time winners. If the Irishman were to win the end-of-season award in 2019, he’d become only the second Pilgrim in history to win it three times – joining legendary finisher Tommy Tynan, who collected his triple in 1985, 1987 and 1989.

A number of these players have gone on to other roles for Argyle: Wotton is the current assistant manager; while Mariner and Fletcher both enjoyed spells as head coach and first-team manager, respectively.

Fletch, Mariner and Steve McCall are all players who have won Player of the Season in two consecutive years. Carey’s awards, in 2016 and 2018, were punctuated by Sonny Bradley’s win in 2017.

Players of nine different nationalities – English, Irish, Welsh, Scottish, French, Jamaican, Canadian, Hungarian and Zimbabwean – have all received awards. The first one non-Englishman to win the award was Irishman Pat Dunne in the 1967-68 season, who also became the first goalkeeper to win the award in the same year.

The first player who hails from outside of the British Isles to receive the award was in the 1991-92 season, when Dwight Marshall, of Jamaica, won.

Carey won a competitive vote in last season’s competition, with 40% of the total. In second-place, for the second successive year, was David Fox, on 20%, with Ryan Taylor third on 10%. The Young Player of the Season award went to a Bristol City loanee for the second successive season, with Zak Vyner succeeding Paul-Arnold Garita having earned a massive 76% of the vote. The podium was completed by Michael Cooper (14%) and Alex Fletcher (6%). Of course, with no Bristol City loanee in the current Argyle squad, it can be guaranteed that there will be no three-peat for the Robins.

The only criterion to be eligible for the Young Player of the Season award is that the player who you vote for was under 21-years-old on the opening day of the current season, Saturday, August 4, 2018.

This includes any player from the Argyle first-team squad, as well as from the club’s development and academy sides.

The following squad players are eligible, having made first-team appearances this season, but you are also welcome to vote for anyone who meets the age requirements:

Michael Cooper

Jordan Bentley

Cameron Sangster

Luke Jephcott

Alex Fletcher

Tom Purrington

Michael Peck

Adam Randell

Dan Rooney

Alex Battle

Sign up for Argyle Alerts