Argyle v Reading - the Line-Up

ARGYLE manager Ryan Lowe made five changes to the Pilgrims' side for Tuesday's Carabao Cup second-round tie against Reading, including handing a seasonal debut to defender Tafari Moore.

The young Londoner came in at right wing-back for Joe Riley, who suffered a knock to his previously broken arm and was substituted in the weekend's home victory against Walsall.

Goalkeeper Mike Cooper and on-loan Chelsea centre-back Josh Grant, both of whom had previously made one start this season, in the first-round victory over Leyton Orient, were recalled in place of Alex Palmer and captain Gary Sawyer. Joe Edwards skippered the side.

In midfield, with Antoni Sarcevic starting a three-match ban, Jose Baxter was given a full debut after six successive appearances as a substitute, while Argyle's other loan player, Rangers striker Zak Rudden, came in for the injured Dom Telford, also making his first start as a Pilgrim.

Earlier in the day, Sarcevic received conformation that his unfortunate red card against Walsall will see him miss, not only the Carabao Cup tie, but also Sky Bet League Two matches at Northampton Town on Saturday, and home to Oldham Athletic the folowing weekend.

He will, however, be available for the Trophy group game against Bristol Rovers at Home Park on Tuesday, September 3.

Will Aimson, one of five summer signings from Bury, was included on the substitutes' bench after recovering from a pelvic injury, as was striker Alex Fletcher.

Argyle (3-5-2): 1 Mike Cooper (gk); 5 Scott Wootton, 6 Niall Canavan, 25 Josh Grant; 22 Tafari Moore, 14 Jose Baxter, 8 Joe Edwards (capt), 10 Danny Mayor, 21 Callum McFadzean; 9 Ryan Taylor, 39 Zak Rudden. Substitutes: 3 Gary Sawyer, 4 Will Aimson, 15 Conor Grant, 19 Klaidi Lolos, 20 Adam Randell, 24 Alex Palmer (gk), 29 Alex Fletcher.

Reading: 1 Sam Walker (gk); 8 Andy Rinomhota, 11 Jordan Obita (capt), 15 Danny Loader, 19 Yakou Meite, 21 Michael Olise, 22 Teddy Howe, 26 Charlie Adam, 34 Gabriel Osho, 35 Akin Odimayo, 39 Josh Barrett. Substitutes: 4 Michael Morrison, 9 Sam Baldock, 18 Lucas Boye, 20 Joao Virginia (gk), 36 Ramarni Medford-Smith, 38 Thierry Nevers, 41 Ethan Coleman.