Argyle v Walsall - the Line-Up

ARGYLE again fielded an unchanged starting line-up for Tuesday evening's Sky Bet League One game against Walsall at Home Park.

Manager Derek Adams selected the same 11 that had won the Pilgrims' previous three matches - home victories against Oxford United (3-0) and Coventry City (2-1) sandwiching a 3-2 triumph at Southend United.

Ruben Lameiras, who had claimed both goals in the victory over Coventry three days earlier, went into the match aiming to become the first Pilgrim since Tommy Tynan in 1988 to score in five successive league games. 

Transfer-window signing Oscar Threlkeld was again obliged to wait to make his first appearance since re-joining the club on a temporary transfer from Belgian club Waasland Beveren.

He was again named on a substitutes' bench that also included Joe Riley, Ryan Taylor and Scott Wootton.

Midfielders Conor Grant and Jamie Ness, and forward Joel Grant remained unavailable because of injury.

Walsall were also unchanged following their 3-0 win at Gillingham, in which Andy Cook scored a hat-trick. Former Pilgrim Scott Laird, a recent loan signing from Forest Green Rovers, started on the substitutes' bench.

Argyle (4-2-3-1): 21 Kyle Letheren; 23 Ashley Smith-Brown, 5 Ryan Edwards, 14 Niall Canavan, 3 Gary Sawyer (capt); 4 Yann Songo’o, 8 David Fox; 7 Antoni Sarcevic, 11 Ruben Lameiras, 10 Graham Carey; 19 Freddie Ladapo. Substitutes: 1 Matt Macey (gk), 2 Joe Riley, 9 Ryan Taylor, 17 Lionel Ainsworth, 25 Scott Wootton, 26 Oscar Threlkeld, 35 Luke Jephcott.

Walsall (4-4-2): 1 Liam Roberts; 28 Cameron Norman, 20 Connor Johnson, 5 Jon Guthrie, 3 Luke Leahy; 6 Nicholas Devlin, 30 Isaiah Osbourne, 2 Joe Edwards, 11 Matt Jarvis; 9 Andy Cook, 29 Josh Gordon. Substitutes: 4 George Dobson, 8 Kieron Morris, 10 Zeli Ismail, 13 Chris Dunn (gk), 15 Liam Kinsella, 34 Scott Laird, 35 Dan Scarr.