New League Opponents for Ladies

ARGYLE Ladies will face three new clubs when the National League Southern Division starts on Sunday, August 18 and a saving of over 500 miles in travelling, although they will still have to travel 4,112 miles over the course of the campaign.

Champions Coventry United have been promoted to the championship, with C&K Basildon being relegated. Loughborough Foxes desire to move to the Northern Division was accepted. This left three spaces, which were taken up by Yeovil Town, who were relegated from the Super League, along with South West Division One champions Keynsham Town and Crawley Wasps, who won Division One South East.

Argyle last played Yeovil in the 2012/13 season in the then South West Combination League when Yeovil took the step up to the Super League. Yeovil finished bottom of Super League One last season but were refused entry in the Championship, which meant them dropping two levels to the National League Southern Division.

It is unclear at the moment where Yeovil will play their home games, as they spent most of last season playing at Dorchester Town FC but both destinations are less than 100 miles from Plymouth. Next closest is the 242-mile round trip to Keynsham Town who Argyle last played two seasons ago when winning promotion.

The longest journey is the 510-mile round trip to Gillingham. The other newcomer is Crawley Wasps, who Argyle lost to 5-3 after extra time in the National League Cup last season.

FA Women’s National League Southern Division: Cardiff City, Chichester City, Crawley Wasps, Gillingham, Hounslow, Keynsham Town, Milton Keynes, Oxford United, Plymouth Argyle, Portsmouth, Watford, Yeovil Town.

The Plymouth Argyle Development side will learn the full constitution of their league once the AGM has taken place on June 26.