No.2 Gordon Nisbet

THE Greatest Pilgrims, voted for by the Green Army, lists the top 25 Argyle legends in all positions and after completing the goalkeepers, we move on to the full-backs.

Greatest Pilgrim Full-Backs
Ranked No. 2
Gordon Nisbet

The incredible football story of the great Gordon Nisbet began as a trainee goalkeeper at West Brom, where his potential as an outfield player was spotted by legendary coach Don Howe.

Nisbet was promoted to right-back and went on to make 136 appearances for the Baggies, where he earned England recognition at under-23 level, before switching to Hull City. A further 193 games on Humberside meant Argyle were signing an experienced campaigner when Nisbet joined in 1981.

From the beginning, Nisbet was a class above and delivered so many faultless performances over his six years at the club that he reached a grand total of 334 games for Argyle, scoring 17 goals, and some of them were blockbusters from distance.

Nisbet was extremely quick, determined and fearless. He played with the wholehearted commitment that made him a massive hero with the Green Army and undoubtedly one of the greatest ever Pilgrims.

He finished his superb career with a brief stint at Exeter but soon returned to Home Park as a coach, and was briefly caretaker-manager in 1992. Nisbet then moved on to a career in the Police.

For information on the Greatest Pilgrims, please click here.

The Greatest Pilgrims are sponsored by the Big Green Lottery. Sign up to the lottery for chances to win weekly cash prizes, a monthly prize of £500, the annual draw of £12,000 spread across ten finalists and monthly bonus prizes.

The Big Green Lottery raises valuable funds for the Argyle Academy, including the purchase of a new minibus for our young stars last year. At present, our BGL membership stands at 650 and our aim is to reach 1,000 members, which would effectively triple the quarterly donations to the Argyle Academy.

For more information, contact us on and to join the BGL, simply sign up online

Greatest Full-Back Results So Far
2. Gordon Nisbet
3. Tony Capaldi
4. Gary Sawyer
5. Mark Patterson
6. David Worrell
7. Paul Williams
8. Gary Poole
9. Colin Sullivan
10. Peter Gilbert
11. Moses Russell
12. Onismor Bhasera
13. Leigh Cooper
14. John Hore
15. Marc Edworthy
16. Lee Hodges
17. Brian McGlinchey
18. Dave Provan
19. Phil Burrows
20. Jon Beswetherick
21. John Uzzell
22. Tony Book
23. Septimus Atterbury
24. Pat Jones
25. Wayne O’Sullivan

Greatest Goalkeeper Results
1. Romain Larrieu
2. Luke McCormick
3. Jim Furnell
4. Alan Nicholls
5. Geoff Crudgington
6. Bill Shortt
7. Alan Miller
8. Steve Cherry
9. Peter Shilton
10. Rhys Wilmot
11. Dave MacLaren
12. Fred Craig
13. Pat Dunne
14. Remi Matthews
15. Milija Aleksic
16. Jon Sheffield
17. Paul Barron
18. Martin Hodge
19. Bruce Grobbelaar
20. Geoff Barnsley
21. Harry Cann
22. John Willie Sutcliffe
23. David Stockdale
24. Bill Harper
25. Neil Ramsbottom