2019 EFL Awards

MIDDLESBROUGH, Doncaster Rovers and Mansfield Town are to be celebrated as the most family friendly Clubs of the last twelve months as the EFL reveals the shortlists ahead of the 2019 EFL Awards.

The overall winner of the AmazeRealise Family Club of the Year will be announced on the night of the EFL Awards on Sunday, April 7, with the three divisional winners set to go head-to-head to win the top prize. 

The star-studded event at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane, attended by players, managers, Clubs, legends of the game and media, will recognise the achievements on and off the pitch of those within the EFL throughout the year.  

AmazeRealise Family Club of the Year
Middlesbrough are the 2019 Championship Family Club of the Year, having previously won the award in 2014, the Club have been selected for their innovative activities based on health, education and fun. The Generation Red Family Zone epitomises those principles and has proven to be very popular since its inception in 2013/14. 

Doncaster Rovers have been selected as the best in League One for their strong culture of fan focus at the Club, including their innovative kit design competition and Donny’s Dog Kennel. Whilst Mansfield Town represent League Two for their Family Area and the introduction of a new Family Room to enhance the match-day experience.

PFA Player in the Community  
Will Vaulks of Rotherham United and Dan Butler of Newport County join Doncaster Rovers’ Matty Blair, who is recognised for the second year running, as the PFA Player in the Community divisional winners for their outstanding commitment to their communities. 

Over the last two seasons, Vaulks has been volunteering weekly at Bluebell Wood, a children’s hospice in Rotherham. With Bluebell Wood requiring £11,000 of funding per day to operate, Vaulks went under lock and key in a prison for ‘Jail and Bail’, which saw over £10,000 raised.

Doncaster Rovers’ Matty Blair has stepped up his involvement with ‘Fit Rovers’, completing more player visits than anyone else for the third year running. Blair has also continued to spearhead the Clubs’ mental health efforts, attending regular events held in partnership with the EFL’s charity partner Mind.

Sky Bet League Two’s winner, Dan Butler, is the Club’s mental health ambassador, and has been for three years. Despite being one of the youngest members in the squad, his commitment and enthusiasm at the ‘We Wear The Same Shirt’ programme has had a lasting effect on the participants involved.

YouGov Sport Supporter of the Year
Included on the shortlist for the 2019 Supporter of the Year are Audrey Baker of Brentford, Roger Groves and Mike Davis of Shrewsbury Town and Frank Grande, representing Northampton Town. 

All four have continued to demonstrate their passion for their chosen Club, often going above and beyond to not only follow their team across the country, but to inspire others to do the same.

A special mention to Joe Mitchell from the Green Army, who was nominated by Plymouth Argyle as our Supporter of the Year.

Community Education Football Alliance (CEFA) Players of the Season
Introduced ahead of the 2018/19 season, the Community Education Football Alliance league is a competition representing EFL Clubs’ Community Organisations (CCO)’s in regional leagues. 

Any players registered on a post-16 education pathway with their CCO is eligible to play in the league. The competition provides playing opportunities for young people, regardless of ability, as well as the opportunity to participate in a football competition governed professionally by the EFL.

A male and a female participant will be awarded the CEFA Player of the Season on the night of the 2019 EFL Awards ceremony.

Other awards to be announced on the night include the prestigious Contribution to League Football award, the Sir Tom Finney Award, the Sky Bet Players of the Season and the overall Football Manager Team of the Season.  The Screwfix Moment of the Season will also be revealed on the night, whilst the Goal of the Year will be voted for and revealed on the night.

PFA Player in the Community
Sky Bet Championship: Will Vaulks, Rotherham United 
Sky Bet League One: Matty Blair, Doncaster Rovers 
Sky Bet League Two: Dan Butler, Newport County

Supporter of the Year
Sky Bet Championship: Audrey Baker, Brentford 
Sky Bet League One: Roger Groves and Mike Davis, Shrewsbury Town
Sky Bet League Two: Frank Grande, Northampton Town

AmazeRealise Family Club of the Year 
Championship: Middlesbrough 
League One: Doncaster Rovers 
League Two: Mansfield Town 

CEFA shortlist
Brentford: Jason Evans
Bristol City: Libby Simms
Burton Albion: Ella Doocey
Portsmouth: Harvey Hughes
Wigan Athletic: Tyler Kavanagh

Sign up for Argyle Alerts