Argyle v Oldham Athletic - the Line-Up

ARGYLE manager Ryan Lowe handed first league starts to summer signings Josh Grant and Jose Baxter for Saturday's Sky Bet League Two clash with Oldham Athletic.

Grant replaced club captain Gary Sawyer in the back three. The Chelsea loanee had previously played onlgy one half of league football for the Pilgrims so far this season, coming on as a substitute at half-time in the previous week’s 3-1 loss at Northampton Town.

It was somewhat poetic that Baxter was handed his first league start for Argyle against his former employers, Oldham. Jose made 84 appearances for the Latics over two separate spells with the club.

Alex Palmer, who this week was awarded the ‘keeper’s position in the EFL Sky Bet League Two team of the month for August, started in between the sticks. Joining Grant along the back three are Scott Wootton and Niall Canavan.

Joe Riley, who scored his first Argyle goal against Northampton, kept his place at right wing-back, whilst the ever-present Callum McFadzean started on the left.

Joe Edwards, who captained the side in the absence of Sawyer, started in his familiar position at the base of the midfield three, flanked by Baxter and Danny Mayor – who joined Palmer in the EFL Sky Bet League Two team of the month.

Up top, Ryan Taylor had recovered from a foot injury to alongside Byron Moore, who scored his first goal in Green on Tuesday night in the trophy against Bristol Rovers.

Meanwhile, Antoni Sarcevic remained out of contention – serving the last of his three-game suspension for picking up a straight red card in the 3-0 win over Walsall.

Oldham were unable to include Pilgrim Ashley Smith-Brown, who is on loan at Boundary Park, under the terms of his temporray move.

Argyle (3-5-2) 24 Alex Palmer (gk); 25 Josh Grant, 6 Niall Canavan, 5 Scott Wootton; 2 Joe Riley, 14 Jose Baxter, 8 Joe Edwards (capt), 10 Danny Mayor, 21 Callum McFadzean; 9 Ryan Taylor, 17 Byron Moore. Substitutes: 1 Michael Cooper (gk), 3 Gary Sawyer, 4 Will Aimson, 15 Conor Grant, 20 Adam Randell, 32 George Cooper, 39 Zak Rudden.

Oldham Athletic (4-5-1): 1 Gary Woods; 34 Thomas Hamer, 31 David Wheater (c), 3 Alex Iacovitti, 7 Johan Branger; 8 Filipe Morais, 10 Mohammed Maouche, 24 Mohammed Sylla, 17 Christopher Missilou, 18 Dylan Fage; 16 Scott Wilson. Substitutes: 2 Zak Mills, 6 Jamie Stott, 9 Urko Vera, 19 Desire Segbe-Azankpo, 22 Dom McHale, 26 Jonny Smith, 39 Gregor Zabret (gk).