EFL Chairman Designate

The EFL has announced that Rick Parry has been named as Chairman designate of the EFL Board following a comprehensive search process. The recommendation of the Board will be presented to EFL Clubs on 26 September and, if endorsed by them, will be put forward for formal ratification at a general meeting.

Subject to completion of the normal appointment process, Rick will be the permanent successor to Ian Lenagan, who stepped down as EFL Chairman in September 2018. In the role, he will be responsible for overseeing the growth and development of the EFL with the aim of ensuring the continued strength of EFL competitions, commercial success and governance.

Rick is one of the UK’s most experienced leaders in football, having served as both chief executive of Liverpool Football Club (1997-2009) and the Premier League (1991-1997).

The appointment of a new Chairman forms part of the EFL’s planned leadership succession process. Recruitment of the EFL’s new Chief Executive remains on track.

As previously stated, Debbie Jevans CBE, who was appointed Interim Chair in September 2018 and stepped up to become Executive Chair in June 2019, will reassume her previous role of Senior Independent Director (SID) at the conclusion of the succession process. In order to ensure continuity, Debbie will continue to oversee the EFL’s ongoing Governance Review through to its completion next year.