Argyle @ Macclesfield - the Line-Up

GARY Sawyer returned from suspension to lead the Pilgrims on the latest step of their Sky Bet League Two title challenge at Macclesfield Town on Tuesday night.

Argyle captain Sawyer had sat out the three games following his sending-off in the 1-0 home victory over Newport County 17 days earlier and was recalled to his familiar left-sided central defensive role in place of Callum McFadzean.

McFadzean dropped to the bench after two and half games inside eight days, on gruelling surfaces, following more than two months out through injury.

Otherwise, manager Ryan Lowe stayed with the starting line-up that had overcome promotion rivals Crewe Alexandra 2-1 in a thrilling match at Home Park Stadium three days earlier.

Josh Grant continued in the central defensive midfield role, with Tyreeq Bakinson again included on a strong substitutes’ bench alongside three strikers –  Dom Telford, Joel Grant and Ryan Hardie.

Argyle (3-5-2): 24 Alex Palmer; 5 Scott Wootton, 6 Niall Canavan, Gary Sawyer (capt); 8 Joe Edwards, 7 Antoni Sarcevic, 25 Josh Grant, 10 Danny Mayor, 32 George Cooper; 17 Byron Moore, 31 Luke Jephcott. Substitutes: 1 Mike Cooper (gk), 11 Dom Telford, 14 Tyreeq Bakinson, 15 Conor Grant, 16 Joel Grant, 18 Ryan Hardie, 21 Callum McFadzean.

Don't forget to attend our Community Open Day on Thursday.