FAWNL Community Club of the Year

Argyle Women named FAWNL Community Club of the Year

Argyle Women have been named Premier Division Community Club of the Year at the FA Women’s National League awards.  

At Sunday’s award ceremony, held at Wembley Stadium, captain Panagiota Papaioannou, defender Lucy Hack, Sports Therapist Emily Rockey and Secretary Scott Cooksley were on hand to collect the award. 

Argyle Women have played a crucial part in the football club’s continued community work across Plymouth, Devon, and Cornwall, in tandem with the Argyle Community Trust. Argyle Women’s players and staff have shown support across numerous provisions throughout the season, such as the Green Army 5k Fun Run and the Derriford Hospital Christmas visit.  

“Giving back to the community is really important to us as a team,” said manager Ryan Perks. 

“We’ve done a lot in the community this year, whether that is attending roadshows, to visiting fans in difficult circumstances who can’t attend matches but support the team for afar.  

“We’re a family club and we pride ourselves on giving back to the community whenever we can. To be recognised by the league for the work we do to help and support our fans is incredible.” 

Argyle Community Trust’s Chief Operations Officer Jason Chapman was also delighted to see the team’s work in the community recognised, and looks forward to continuing to inspire the next generation of young footballers together. 

He said: “The players have been incredible role models in the community and we’re really grateful to them for the work they’ve put in this year off the pitch.  

“Last year, we introduced the Christmas Cracker for the women’s team, and it went down incredibly well; so well that we increased capacity and still sold out this year. It just goes to show how much the community love interacting with the players and staff as well as how much the profile of the women’s game has grown in general.”