rodney parade

The Teams | Newport County AFC vs Argyle

The teams are in for the Greens' opening game in the Papa John's Trophy at Newport County AFC.

Argyle have made eleven changes to the side that drew with Fleetwood Town in Sky Bet League One on Saturday handing out debuts to Oscar Massey and Angel Waruih.

Jordon Garrick, Finley Craske and Rhys Shirley all get the first starts for the club and should he come on, 15 year old Freddie Issaka would become Argyle's youngest ever player - he is named on a youthful looking bench.

Argyle (3-5-2): 25 Callum Burton (gk); 41 Ollie Tomlinson, 5 James Wilson 37 Brandon Pursall; 14 Jordon Garrick, 26 Finley Craske, 20 Adam Randell (capt), 45 Angel Waruih, 27 Ryan Law; 42 Rhys Shirley, 47 Oscar Massey. Substitutes: 46 Zak Baker (gk), 38 Ethan Mitchell, 39 Carlo Garside, 40 Oscar Rutherford, 43 Oscar Halls, 44 Will Jenkins Davies, 48 Freddie Issaka.

Newport County AFC: 30 Nick Townsend (gk); 7 Robbie Willmott, 8 Matty Dolan (capt), 14 Aaron Lewis, 16 Timmy Abraham, 19 Dom Telford, 24 Jake Cain, 31 Oliver Cooper, 41 Joe Woodiwiss, 50 Harrison Bright, 56 Aneurin Livermore. Substitutes: 43 Ryan Hiller, 47 Euan Ovendale, 49 Ieystyn Evans, 53 Charlie Dullock, 55 Zack Maher, 63 Tom Stokes, 64 Jonah Williams.