Argyle Youth 1 Torquay Youth 0

ARGYLE'S under-18's recorded their first Football League Youth Alliance victory of 2013 when they beat their South Devon rivals at Haye Road.

Argyle still had River Allen and Andrew Elcock out injured which gave a chance to schoolboy Ryan Lane to make his league debut.

Lane was not alone as Argyle had Southampton apprentice goalkeeper James White playing, due to Andrew Hannah's injury, and he looked assured as Southampton goalkeeping coach Vince Bartram watched from the sidelines.

Argyle had the better of the exchanges in a goalless first half as Torquay were intent on closing down their hosts which led to the game not being able to flow due to constant stoppages for free kicks.

Solomon Wheatley (pictured) went close, as early as the third minute, but his his 20-yard drive was deflected just wide by Jake Hutchins brave tackle.

Connor Thompson, in the Gull's goal, was by far the busier of the two custodians and  he was grateful to see Joshua Hutchinson's cross-turned-shot just clear his crossbar.

Wheatley was looking lively for Argyle and his drive, from the right-hand side of the area, flew across Thompson but also wide of the far post.

The best move of the half came on 31 minutes when a passing movement ended with full-back Colin Watson sending in a fierce drive that Thompson pushed wide, at the second attempt.

Argyle's best chance arrived five minutes after the break but Hutchinson blazed high, and wide, from six yards before Tyler Harvey's effort, from the edge of the area, was gathered, at the second attempt, by Thompson.

The all-important goal came on 55 minutes when Matt Lecointe put in Wheatley who cut in from the right to drive his shot past Thompson and inside the far post.

Argyle had further efforts from Wheatley and Harvey going wide before Torquay were reduced to 10 men when James Washburn received his second caution, in a minute, to earn an early shower.

Argyle: James White, Colin Watson, Ben Purrington, Keiron Asumadu-Sakyi, James Bradley (c), Nathan Summers, Solomon Wheatley, Matt Lecointe, Tyler Harvey, Joshua Hutchinson (Jake Miller 78), Ryan Lane. Substitutes (not used): Aaron Bentley, Mason Hughes, Louis Rooney.