Derry Downer

DEFEAT by Londonderry just about summed up the Under-15s' luck in this season's SuperCupNI as they completely outclassed their opponents only to lose to a goal in the first minute of stoppage time.

A clearly disappointed Academy Manager Phil Stokes said: "Football can be a cruel game at times and this was one of those games when we dominated for 95% of the time.

"[Londonderry] didn't get a kick and didn't look like scoring, and their only chance came right at the end.

"All credit to our lads - their work-rate, effort and energy was spot on and we couldn't have asked for anything more from them.

"We had chances but, unfortunately, they didn't quite fall for them and if we had taken just one of them then we would have probably gone on and won at a canter."

The game was simply one of a procession of chances for Argyle with the fit-again Dominic Osborne in the thick of the action.

Londonderry goalkeeper Ben Ryan was a major stumbling block for Argyle, twice racing off his line to deny Joe Seery before he flew across his goal to turn aside Keiran Rowe's superb drive that looked destined for the far top corner.

Midfielder Rowe was causing the Irish team problems, sending another effort narrowly over the crossbar, before Osborne headed the ball down to him but Ryan once again proved unbeatable.

The second half carried on in the same vein, with Rowe seeing his low drive kicked off the line with Seery skying the rebound.

Defender Dominic Harnell then headed Jamie Simmonds corner across goal and wide before substitute Jimmy Miller's first touch saw his effort blocked by Ryan.

Rowe and Osborne, twice, went close before the game entered stoppage time when disaster struck as Londonderry's first effort at goal found Ryan McIntyre heading home from close range to break Argyle hearts.

Argyle will now face County Fermanagh in the Salver third/fourth place play-off.

Argyle: Shaun Hillier, Finley Craske, Reuben Collum, Jacob Evans, Dominic Harnell, Oliver Tomlinson, Jude Boyd, Joe Seery, Dominic Osborne, Kieran Rowe, Jamie Simmonds (Jimmy Miller 46). Substitutes (not used): Alfie Wotton, Lewis Moyle, Sam Wickens, Owen Raven, Oscar Massey, Brandon Pursall.