Argyle v Sunderland - the Line-Up

ARGYLE reverted to the line-up that paved the way to a 4-1 Sky Bet League One victory at Scunthorpe United seven days earlier for this afternoon's visit of Sunderland to Home Park.

Manager Derek Adams had rested five players from the starting line-up for the midweek Checkatrade Trophy tie against Chelsea Under-21s Home Park.

The quintet - goalkeeper Matt Macey, defender Conor Grant, and forwards Graham Carey, Joel Grant and Freddie Ladapo - all returned as the Pilgrims fielded the same opening 11 for the third successive league match.

Joel and Ladapo had both scored in the impressive victory at Glanford Park, with Ladapo scoring for a third successive match to emulate a feat last achieved by Reuben Reid five years earlier.

The only change was on the substitutes' bench, where Calum Dyson replaced the injured Gregg Wylde.

Argyle (4-3-3): 1 Matt Macey; 22 Tafari Moore, 4 Yann Songo'o, 14 Niall Canavan, 15 Conor Grant; 8 David Fox (capt), 6 Jamie Ness, 7 Antoni Sarcevic; 10 Graham Carey, 19 Freddie Ladapo, 16 Joel Grant. Substitutes: 11 Ruben Lameiras, 13 Stuart O’Keefe, 18 Calum Dyson, 21 Kyle Letheren (gk), 23 Ashley Smith-Brown, 24 Peter Grant, 35 Luke Jephcott.