Argyle v Oxford - the Line-Up

ARGYLE made one change to their starting line-up for their New Year's Day game against Oxford United a Home Park.

Former Oxford player Ash Smith-Brown, a first-half substitute for injured Joe Riley in the previous Saturday's 1-1 draw at Burton, retained his place at right-back.

Riley joined goalkeeper Matt Macey, midfielders Conor Grant and Jamie Ness, and forward Joel Grant in the treatement room.

Kyle Letheren continued between the posts, with second-year apprentice Tom Purrington called into the match-day squad.

Oxford included former Pilgrim captain Curtis Nelson and ex-Argyle forward Jamie Mackie, who skippered the Us.

Argyle (4-3-3): 21 Kyle Letheren; 23 Ashley Smith-Brown, 5 Ryan Edwards, 14 Niall Canavan, 3 Gary Sawyer (capt); 4 Yann Songo’o, 7 Antoni Sarcevic, 8 David Fox; 10 Graham Carey, 19 Freddie Ladapo, 11Ruben Lameiras. Substitutes: 9 Ryan Taylor, 20 Gregg Wylde, 22 Tafari Moore, 25 Scott Wootton, 31 Michael Cooper (gk), 35 Luke Jephcott, 42 Tom Purrington.

Oxford United (4-3-3): 1 Simon Eastwood; 6 Jamie Hanson, 5 Curtis Nelson, 4 Rob Dickie, 3 Luke Garbutt; 17 James Henry, 8 Cameron Brannagan, 14 Josh Ruffels; 16 Gavin Whyte 19 Jamie Mackie, 10 Marcus Browne. Substitutes: 2 Cameron Norman, 15 John Mousinho, 22 Charlie Raglan, 27 Jack Stevens, 30 Armani Little, 43 Fabio Lopes, 44 Slavi Spasov.