Greatest Strikers: No.1

THE Greatest Pilgrims, voted for by the Green Army, lists the top 25 Argyle legends in all positions and we move on to the goalscoring heroes.

Greatest Pilgrim Strikers
Ranked No.1
Tommy Tynan

Your number one striker is the goalscoring genius of Tommy Tynan, a player who lit up the 1980s at Home Park.

Tommy failed to make the grade as a junior at Liverpool and developed his professional game with a spell in America, then Sheffield Wednesday, Lincoln and Newport, signing for his first stint at Home Park in 1983.

It was the perfect fit for both parties, as Tommy fired in the goals that helped Argyle reach the FA Cup semi-finals in 1984. He was a lethal finisher, sharp as a razor in the box and blessed with the innate ability to sniff out opportunities.

He moved to Rotherham in 1985 but was back at Home Park a year later, and the goalscoring instincts were even better second time around. Tommy won the Argyle Player of the Season on three occasions and scored an amazing 145 goals in 310 appearances for our club.

This brilliant Pilgrim finished his devastating career with spells at Torquay and Doncaster, but will always be best remembered for his wonderful goalscoring ability at Home Park.

For information on the Greatest Pilgrims, please click here.

The Greatest Pilgrims are sponsored by the Big Green Lottery. Sign up to the lottery for chances to win weekly cash prizes, a monthly prize of £500, the annual draw of £12,000 spread across ten finalists and monthly bonus prizes.

The Big Green Lottery raises valuable funds for the Argyle Academy, including the purchase of a new minibus for our young stars last year. At present, our BGL membership stands at 650 and our aim is to reach 1,000 members, which would effectively triple the quarterly donations to the Argyle Academy.

For more information, contact us on and to join the BGL, simply sign up online

Greatest Striker Results
1. Tommy Tynan
2. Mickey Evans
3. Paul Mariner
4. Sammy Black
5. Sylvan Ebanks-Blake
6. Billy Rafferty
7. David Kemp
8. Reuben Reid
9. Dwight Marshall
10. Bradley Wright-Phillips
11. Wilf Carter
12. Ian Stonebridge
13. Barry Hayles
14. Maurice Tadman
15. Marino Keith
16. Jack Cock
17. Jamie Mackie
18. Gordon Staniforth
19. Carlo Corazzin
20. Fred Binney
21. Adrian Littlejohn
22. Steve Cooper 
23. Paul Gallagher 
24. Paul McGregor 
25. Derek Rickard