Greatest Strikers: No.2

THE Greatest Pilgrims, voted for by the Green Army, lists the top 25 Argyle legends in all positions and we move on to the goalscoring heroes.

Greatest Pilgrim Strikers
Ranked No.2
Mickey Evans

A wonderful career that started and finished at Home Park, Michael Evans is the classic story of a hometown hero.

Known as Trigger, Evans came through the Argyle Academy to make his debut as a teenager in 1990 and gradually emerged as our leading centre-forward. He was fantastic in the air, ultra-competitive and the ideal target-man.

Trigger had developed into a top striker in lower league football when he was signed by Premier League Southampton in 1997. He later joined West Bromwich Albion and Bristol Rovers before returning to Argyle in 2001.

His second spell as a Pilgrim was even better than the first, as Trigger formed the attacking fulcrum in the great side built by Paul Sturrock. He was tireless in the vanguard, always unselfish in his work and superb at creating chances for others.

The Argyle love affair finally ended in 2006 and Evans racked up a total of 81 goals in 432 appearances as a great Pilgrim.

For information on the Greatest Pilgrims, please click here.

The Greatest Pilgrims are sponsored by the Big Green Lottery. Sign up to the lottery for chances to win weekly cash prizes, a monthly prize of £500, the annual draw of £12,000 spread across ten finalists and monthly bonus prizes.

The Big Green Lottery raises valuable funds for the Argyle Academy, including the purchase of a new minibus for our young stars last year. At present, our BGL membership stands at 650 and our aim is to reach 1,000 members, which would effectively triple the quarterly donations to the Argyle Academy.

For more information, contact us on and to join the BGL, simply sign up online

Greatest Striker Results So Far
2. Mickey Evans
3. Paul Mariner
4. Sammy Black
5. Sylvan Ebanks-Blake
6. Billy Rafferty
7. David Kemp
8. Reuben Reid
9. Dwight Marshall
10. Bradley Wright-Phillips
11. Wilf Carter
12. Ian Stonebridge
13. Barry Hayles
14. Maurice Tadman
15. Marino Keith
16. Jack Cock
17. Jamie Mackie
18. Gordon Staniforth
19. Carlo Corazzin
20. Fred Binney
21. Adrian Littlejohn
22. Steve Cooper 
23. Paul Gallagher 
24. Paul McGregor 
25. Derek Rickard