Greatest Strikers: No.4

THE Greatest Pilgrims, voted for by the Green Army, lists the top 25 Argyle legends in all positions and we move on to the goalscoring heroes.

Greatest Pilgrim Strikers
Ranked No.4
Sammy Black

The great Sammy Black was the finest ever goalscorer to wear the Argyle shirt and a truly brilliant footballer, who could have also been sitting at the top of our list of greatest wingers.

Sammy was brought down from Scotland by legendary Argyle manager Bob Jack and the skilful little forward quickly became a hero at Home Park. Nicknamed the Mighty Atom, Sammy formed a devastating partnership with Jack Leslie in the Pilgrim attack.

Famed for playing with cigarette stub tucked behind his ear, Sammy was fast, tricky and blessed with a natural eye for goal. He was undoubtedly one of the best footballers in the country but remained loyal to Argyle, despite transfer rumours linking him with some major football clubs.

Sammy Black reached an incredible total of 182 goals in 491 appearances for Argyle, playing his final game in 1938. This truly great Pilgrim settled into Plymouth life after retirement and left us in 1977 at the age of 72.

For information on the Greatest Pilgrims, please click here.

The Greatest Pilgrims are sponsored by the Big Green Lottery. Sign up to the lottery for chances to win weekly cash prizes, a monthly prize of £500, the annual draw of £12,000 spread across ten finalists and monthly bonus prizes.

The Big Green Lottery raises valuable funds for the Argyle Academy, including the purchase of a new minibus for our young stars last year. At present, our BGL membership stands at 650 and our aim is to reach 1,000 members, which would effectively triple the quarterly donations to the Argyle Academy.

For more information, contact us on and to join the BGL, simply sign up online

Greatest Striker Results So Far
4. Sammy Black
5. Sylvan Ebanks-Blake
6. Billy Rafferty
7. David Kemp
8. Reuben Reid
9. Dwight Marshall
10. Bradley Wright-Phillips
11. Wilf Carter
12. Ian Stonebridge
13. Barry Hayles
14. Maurice Tadman
15. Marino Keith
16. Jack Cock
17. Jamie Mackie
18. Gordon Staniforth
19. Carlo Corazzin
20. Fred Binney
21. Adrian Littlejohn
22. Steve Cooper 
23. Paul Gallagher 
24. Paul McGregor 
25. Derek Rickard