Greatest Strikers: No.5

THE Greatest Pilgrims, voted for by the Green Army, lists the top 25 Argyle legends in all positions and we move on to the goalscoring heroes.

Greatest Pilgrim Strikers
Ranked No.5
Sylvan Ebanks-Blake

In two years as a Pilgrim, Sylvan Ebanks-Blake made a fantastic impression and formed an outstanding strike-partnership with the experienced Barry Hayles.

Sylvan began his career as a junior at Manchester United and enjoyed a loan spell in Belgium with Royal Antwerp before being allowed to leave for Home Park in the summer of 2006.

Although lacking in first-team experience, Sylvan had the raw ingredients of pace, power and finishing ability. He quickly became one of the best strikers in the Championship with his performances in one of the finest Argyle teams of any era.

A star was born and after 23 goals in 74 appearances at Home Park, Sylvan was sold to Wolves for £1.5m, going on to star for his new club in the Premier League. He later played for Ipswich, Preston and Chesterfield before dropping into the non-league game.

For information on the Greatest Pilgrims, please click here.

The Greatest Pilgrims are sponsored by the Big Green Lottery. Sign up to the lottery for chances to win weekly cash prizes, a monthly prize of £500, the annual draw of £12,000 spread across ten finalists and monthly bonus prizes.

The Big Green Lottery raises valuable funds for the Argyle Academy, including the purchase of a new minibus for our young stars last year. At present, our BGL membership stands at 650 and our aim is to reach 1,000 members, which would effectively triple the quarterly donations to the Argyle Academy.

For more information, contact us on and to join the BGL, simply sign up online

Greatest Striker Results So Far
5. Sylvan Ebanks-Blake
6. Billy Rafferty
7. David Kemp
8. Reuben Reid
9. Dwight Marshall
10. Bradley Wright-Phillips
11. Wilf Carter
12. Ian Stonebridge
13. Barry Hayles
14. Maurice Tadman
15. Marino Keith
16. Jack Cock
17. Jamie Mackie
18. Gordon Staniforth
19. Carlo Corazzin
20. Fred Binney
21. Adrian Littlejohn
22. Steve Cooper 
23. Paul Gallagher 
24. Paul McGregor 
25. Derek Rickard