Your Greatest Midfielder

THE Greatest Pilgrims, voted for by the Green Army, lists the top 25 Argyle legends in all positions and it is next the turn of the centre-midfielders.

Greatest Pilgrim Centre-Midfielders
Ranked No.1
David Friio

Your number one greatest Pilgrim midfielder is the French hero of the all-conquering team built by Paul Sturrock at the start of the new millennium.

David Friio enjoyed a mild start to his career in the French second division, playing as a defender in those early days. A move to Home Park in 2000 saw Luggy convert him into a midfielder and it was an inspired tactical switch by the boss.

Friio was incredible in the engine room, blessed with the energy to cover every blade of grass. In a flash, Friio could go from defending his own penalty area to scoring goals at the other end of the pitch.

The Green Army were in love and the feeling was mutual. Friio was a massive figure in the side that won two promotions and never wavered in his committed approach to every single game. He finally left Home Park for a spell at Nottingham Forest in 2005.

David Friio: your greatest Pilgrim midfielder.

For information on the Greatest Pilgrims, please click here.

The Greatest Pilgrims are sponsored by the Big Green Lottery. Sign up to the lottery for chances to win weekly cash prizes, a monthly prize of £500, the annual draw of £12,000 spread across ten finalists and monthly bonus prizes.

The Big Green Lottery raises valuable funds for the Argyle Academy, including the purchase of a new minibus for our young stars last year. At present, our BGL membership stands at 650 and our aim is to reach 1,000 members, which would effectively triple the quarterly donations to the Argyle Academy.

For more information, contact us on and to join the BGL, simply sign up online

Greatest Centre-Midfield Results So Far
1. David Friio
2. Lilian Nalis
3. Akos Buzsaky
4. Steve McCall
5. Steve Castle
6. Johnny Williams
7. Kevin Summerfield
8. Ronnie Mauge
9. John Matthews
10. Chris Billy
11. Norman Piper
12. Steve Adams
13. Andy Thomas 
14. Carl Fletcher 
15. Ernie Machin   
16. Dan Gosling
17. David Fox  
18. John Delve   
19. Gary Megson
20. Chris Hargreaves
21. Conor Hourihane
22. Russell Coughlin
23. Chris Leadbitter
24. Andy Rogers
25. David Burnside