No.1 Paul Connolly

THE Greatest Pilgrims, voted for by the Green Army, lists the top 25 Argyle legends in all positions and after completing the goalkeepers, we move on to the full-backs.

Greatest Pilgrim Full-Backs
Ranked No. 1
Paul Connolly

The number one Pilgrim full-back voted by the Green Army is Paul Connolly, one of the heroes of the great Argyle side put together by manager Paul Sturrock.

The popular young Liverpudlian was known as Shelley by his team-mates and gradually emerged as the first-choice right-back after battling with the likes of David Worrell and Anthony Barness for the position.

Shelley was a top quality defender, who rarely put a foot wrong and also capable of bombing forward to provide dangerous ammunition from the right flank. His defensive prowess gave the Pilgrims wonderful balance and assurance across the backline.

When Ian Holloway arrived as manager, Shelley continued to be a leading star in arguably one of the most talented teams ever assembled at Home Park. He famously scored his only goal for the Pilgrims in a 3-0 win over Norwich, with the whole stadium on their feet in rapturous celebration.

Shelley later moved to Derby County and captained the Rams in the Championship. His career then took him to Leeds, Millwall, Crawley and Luton.

Paul Connolly: the greatest Pilgrim full-back.

For information on the Greatest Pilgrims, please click here.

The Greatest Pilgrims are sponsored by the Big Green Lottery. Sign up to the lottery for chances to win weekly cash prizes, a monthly prize of £500, the annual draw of £12,000 spread across ten finalists and monthly bonus prizes.

The Big Green Lottery raises valuable funds for the Argyle Academy, including the purchase of a new minibus for our young stars last year. At present, our BGL membership stands at 650 and our aim is to reach 1,000 members, which would effectively triple the quarterly donations to the Argyle Academy.

For more information, contact us on and to join the BGL, simply sign up online

Greatest Full-Back Results
1. Paul Connolly
2. Gordon Nisbet
3. Tony Capaldi
4. Gary Sawyer
5. Mark Patterson
6. David Worrell
7. Paul Williams
8. Gary Poole
9. Colin Sullivan
10. Peter Gilbert
11. Moses Russell
12. Onismor Bhasera
13. Leigh Cooper
14. John Hore
15. Marc Edworthy
16. Lee Hodges
17. Brian McGlinchey
18. Dave Provan
19. Phil Burrows
20. Jon Beswetherick
21. John Uzzell
22. Tony Book
23. Septimus Atterbury
24. Pat Jones
25. Wayne O’Sullivan

Greatest Goalkeeper Results
1. Romain Larrieu
2. Luke McCormick
3. Jim Furnell
4. Alan Nicholls
5. Geoff Crudgington
6. Bill Shortt
7. Alan Miller
8. Steve Cherry
9. Peter Shilton
10. Rhys Wilmot
11. Dave MacLaren
12. Fred Craig
13. Pat Dunne
14. Remi Matthews
15. Milija Aleksic
16. Jon Sheffield
17. Paul Barron
18. Martin Hodge
19. Bruce Grobbelaar
20. Geoff Barnsley
21. Harry Cann
22. John Willie Sutcliffe
23. David Stockdale
24. Bill Harper
25. Neil Ramsbottom